The Fellowship of the Food Bowl

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jeanluc_pippen_merry

Reaction score
My first bunny was a little mini cashmere lop i named Jean-luc Picard (pictured below). I had been researching bunnies for a few months before finally deciding to get one. What i really wanted was a Newfoundland Landseer, but as they usually cost $3,000+ along with the fact that there aren't any landseer breeders in Australia, the possibility of me getting the newfie i wanted was looking pretty bleak. I remember talking to a friend about it one day, and how finding a landseer pup in Australia for sale was almost an impossibility. She knew i really wanted a pet, something to love and spoil, she said "what about a bunny?". I looked at her with a "wtf... why would i want a giant furry rat as a pet" kind of expression on my face. "Yeah right" i said to her... "a rabbit? HA!".

I should mention that i have actually wanted a python pet since i was a kid, and i had always thought of rabbits as being food, not that i ever ate rabbit, but i knew it was a common source of protein for people as well as other animals, so it never occurred to me that they might make good companions.