Pellet question

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sibelabmom

@lokibragiandtyr_buns
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ok, so, I got my degree in veterinary technology, but what that means is that not much time was spent on exotics. I know how to figure out the best foods for dogs and cats, how to read the ingredient list and what it should contain in what order, but I don't know how to do the same for rabbit pellets. I've been using Oxbow Essentials Young Rabbit Food, but I also have a bag of Select Series Pro, and the ingredient list for the Walmart brand, although I'm inclined to completely ignore that one.

I'm curious how the Oxbow and Select Series shape up to one another. Does anyone use the Select Series?

Hay should be the first ingredient. Whether alfalfa or a grass hay, depends on the age of the rabbit and whether it's a pet, nursing doe, etc, because of different calcium levels and protein levels.

If this is manna pro you're talking about, the basic ingredients are similar, but oxbow is the better of the two in my opinion, the main differences being the fiber percentage and the better quality control.

High fiber, balanced with the right amount of protein/nutrients, is considered important for optimal digestive health in rabbits. The lower percentage of fiber in the manna pro pellets could be offset to some extent, with free feeding good grass hay and limiting pellet amounts, if the quality was as good as oxbow, which I don't feel it is. This is based on personal accounts I've read from others, as well as my own experience.