Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EmilyJayneHarlow

Reaction score
Hey,
Does anyone have any tips for grooming your bunnies, everytime I groom my rabbit, he always lunges at me and growls then runs away,
He doesn’t let me groom his stomach either.
Any tips would be helpful

You can try wrapping the rabbit in a blanket, (Bunny burrito!) That's all I've heard. But I'm not an expert so maybe that won't work for you.

I would try introducing the brush/comb to him slowly. He might now like it at first, but once he knows it won't hurt him then he should exept it. Also, I wouldn't try grooming is tummy first. Start with his back while he's on the ground. Hope this helps!

- Cluckin'Bunny

You can put a towel over his head, if you wrap him in the towel, you won’t be able to reach his body to groom it. You can also use a rubber grooming hand rather than a comb or brush, so that it’s like you are stroking him. I’ve never had to brush my rabbits stomach before.

What did you do?because I’m struggling with the same thing. She’s terrified of the brush, lint roller, or anything that mimics the brush. I tried the gloves, she was scared of it too. I tried putting her on a higher surface and she was about to jump, I tried covering her face and the bunny burrito, nothing worked. Now she’s starting to get matted fur on her chest, I tried to cut it but I couldn’t, and now she hates every one and no one’s allowed to touch her

When Diva was little, i used to put pellets on the floor and then brush her while she was eating, this was the only way that she would let me.
For stomach i used to give her treat but make her reach for it, so she would stand up on her hind legs. And then quickly brush her stomach 😁 now when she is all grown up and clever, she realised that she can just grab her treat and run away😁