Daisy stinks!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DaisyMaeK

Reaction score
I noticed today during playtime that Daisy kept cleaning and itching her right ear. I am wondering if it is bothering her? Any way of telling if anything is wrong? Also I noticed a very strong oder coming from her...unpleasant might I add. I picked her up and noticed some smooshy poo stuck in her hair by her rump. I cleaned it out but she still smells. I know this sounds dumb...but I'm new at this, can I giver her a bath? What is causing the smell and how do I get rid of it?

Hmmm, it's probably not sexual maturity then. Could be diet related, especially if she has sticky poos. What type of pellets are you feeding her? Is she eating loads of hay?

Maybe her scent glands need cleaning? I'm no expert on the subject though.

I would check out the contents of the pellets she is eating too, I have seen more than one otherwise healthy rabbit get smooshy poops and the like from poor feed. Since she is so young, her system of course is more delicate right now. Also, is she getting any greens or mabye too many treats? I wouldn't recomend a bath, it usually is better to just clean off her bottom the way you are doing now.

I haven't noticed the sticky poo before today. I feed her Timothy Hay pellots made by Kaytee, and she eats a ton of Timothy hay as well. As for snacks she gets a small carrot once every few days and one Kaytee yogurt chip for rabbits almost everyday. I don't really know what snacks are suitable, any suggestions? Is there a pellot I should feed her over any others?

Are you feeding her a lot of wet veggies? and other treats? My bunny, Bo, cannot have much at all or we have wet poos and extra cecals and he gets "Nassy Butt!"