bunny screamed:( (RIP)

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kikibunny

Reaction score
i have a baby bunny (shes about 45-50 days old) and i got her a couple of days ago and i was supposed to go to the vet in a few hours anyways but, she was just walking around and she sped up a little, but since she has long nails she kept sliding and before i could pick her up she started screaming and then she played dead

i held her and comforted her and put her on my bed and she breathes rather normally right now and she didnt eat for the first few minutes (she ate just a little as i was writing) and idk i am a little confused and very much worried

also i feel like her nose might be stuffed too which makes me worry (she makes weird noises when she breathes) but idk if its related to the scream im just really worried

im a first time bunny owner and this is my first time ever hearing a bunny scream and i am big time freaking out !!! pls someone help ;-;

edit: she seemed okay for a while but then she started speeding up again and her nails did the thing again and she screamed and played dead again so idk if shes sick or scared and i cant go to the vet rn i need to wait at least two hours idk what to do

Last edited:
The speeding up could be bunny zoomies from being happy, or it could be she's scared and trying to find somewhere safe. Which one depends on what other body language she's showing.

https://wabbitwiki.com/wiki/Understanding_your_rabbit
https://rabbitsindoors.weebly.com/bonding-with-your-bunny.html

It sounds like she panicked from not being able to get traction on a slippery floor. The 'playing dead' is actually a prey response as they go into a bit of shock.