Un-neutered male and spayed female bonding?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xaanterra

Reaction score
I have an un-neutered male rabbit who's about 4-6 months old, according to his previous owner. I am thinking about getting a friend for him, and I recently came across someone trying to find a new home for their female spayed rabbit. Apparently she was agressive to the other bunny in the house (who I assume was female). Do you think there would be any chance of my rabbit and the female rabbit bonding? And I don't mean taking months to a year to bond. I'm not that experienced with rabbits (had only one other who lived alone), so I wouldn't want to do this if it would be pretty difficult, because I'd be afraid I'd mess something up. Thanks!

ETA: I do plan on neutering my rabbit sometime soon, so that might make things even more easier. I've heard that male/female pairings are easier than same-sex pairings, but I haven't heard if they're still easy if one rabbit isn't fixed.

You could get her, but I would hold off bonding until he is neutered, healed and has has time for the hormones to calm down. It would be at least 4 weeks after he is done before I would try bonding them.
Even if you were able to bond them before he is neutered, it may not work after. Just his hormones kicking in can cause problems, and getting him neutered can change their relationship.