Russel Rabbit Food

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

irishbunny

Reaction score
I'm not very good at looking at ingredients on pellets and deciding if they are good for them or not but I do know you should stay clear of the coloured pellets, I can only find coloured pellets in my area but I have found a bag I've been giving the rabbits the past couple of weeks that isn't too coloured and doesn't seem too bad, since I got Misty feeding them just veg has gotten expensive so I need to give them pellets a bit now. Could someone have a look at the ingredients and tell me if they are ok? They are no excellent pellet but if they are ok I'll feed them them but if they are terrible I won't.

Ingredients

Alfalfa, flaked peas, straw, flaked maize, oats, wheat and flaked wheat, locust bean, anise and fenugreek liquid, soya oil, vitamins and minerals, coloured with EC additives.

Typical Analysis

Protein 14.0%, Oil 2.5%, Fibre 14.0%, Ash 5.0%, Copper 10mg/kg, Vitamin A 10000 IU/kg, Vitamin D3 1000 IU/kg, Vitamin E 50mg/kg

The fiber is awfully low. Also, looking at the ingredients, does this have seeds and stuff mixed in? There's a lot of carbs and those peas and beans aren't digested very well and can cause problems.

What else do you have available?

Awful stuff. They carry it here, and its pretty much all most pet stores sell for rabbits.

Should be banned!

(Yet oddly enough I was considering buying some for Pipp just the other day because she needs just a bit of stuff to grind down her teeth and some of those ingredients will at least do that).

sas :bunnydance:

The only other one there is the different petshops own brands that are all colours, have no ingredients on them and smell like fruity bubblegum with couldn't be good, for some reason they just don't sell the plain pellets. This is the best I could find.