Proper feeding question

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scoutshouse

Reaction score
Hi all. I am new to the bunny thing my fiance and I recently got ourselves a bunny. Everything seems to be going fine just have run into a small issue.

It seems Scout is not really wanting to eat hay as much as he did when we first got him and only is eating the dry mix food. this has me concerned because I know how important hay is to there diet. I have been topping his food dish off regularly which could be the issue.

Which brings me to my question should I not fill his dish up and make scout eat hay, and then only feed a small amount of dry mix? Or is there better way that I can correct the situation?

Welcome neighbor! My Ellie did the same thing. I cut back on her pellets. She gets a 1/4 cup once a day and I mix them into her hay. She's eating a lot more hay now that she has to forage through it to get pellets. :big wink:

I would not give more pellets until he has eaten what is in the bowl.
His age is a big factor in how much you feed. Young rabbits, under about 6 months old, should get more pellets than adults. Free feeding (giving him all he can eat) is generally recommended. You can also give a measured amount that is around what he will eat in a day. Young rabbits do need extra calories to grow. For adults, over 6 months, you do want to limit the pellets to about 1/4 cup per 5 pounds of body weight. This is usually a good amount that they get the nutrients they need without getting fat. Some rabbits may need more than others, so you do need to figure out what works for your rabbit.