Pregnant Doe Early Nesting

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TammyP

Reaction score
Hello everyone...Im new to breeding buns. I bought a bunny last year and she has forever changed my world/life. I absolutely love her (and rabbits)...so much so, I had her bred (white, blue-eyed lionhead) to see if rabbitry is something I would like to pursue. Today is day 20 post breeding. Yesterday my bun started frantically chewing and digging at the rug, a bag of trash, shoes, and clothes (she free roams, but has an exercise pen enclosure for her home). She also had hay in her mouth and had started preparing a nest in the corner of her enclosure. I feel sure she is pregnant. The male had 3 fall offs. She is very adamant about not being picked up, but will allow me to pet her and love on her and she still grooms/kisses me. She is definitely getting bigger and rarely goes out of the room. She does not want to be around others or her bunny friend (a Rex doe). Is this nesting behavior so early normal? Should I go ahead and give her a nesting box? This is her first pregnancy and she seems scared and nervous 😓. Your wisdom and insight will be much appreciated!

Yes, you can give her a nest box now. Check that she doesn't just use it as a litterbox.

She certainly could be pregnant (and continue treating her as such), but some does who build nests that early are experiencing a false pregnancy.

Thank you...I definitely feel she is pregnant...we saw what looked like the babies moving around in her belly on day 24. I hope by this time next week, we will have babies!!! I'm so excited!

Day 24 ? Wow. I thought when mine gave birth last month at day 23 that was long. Good luck