New to bunbuns thinking of adding a 3rd

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

willa

Reaction score
Hello. I am new to bunbuns. I have ferrets
( butters, taco and dumpling) that are just off the kitchen they have that room 12-16 hours a day. I have 3 rats (Pipzy, sofie and gabby) in a double unit critter nation they get 2 hours a day in the playpen. I have a toy poodle.

I got 2 baby holland lops (franky and chase) last week I am considering adding a lionhead before they get any older in hops they will bond easier. The buns have their own room and I dont cage them. They are both boys and if I add the lionhead he is also a boy and my vet has already said they will neuter them for me.

I have a couple questions:

If I plan to eventually add a lionhead is it best to do it now while they are all babies?

How much hay do you all go through per rabbit per week?

Welcome :)

This doesn't sound like a good idea. There is no way to tell if they will get along when they grow up, there are no baby bonds, they easily get along anyway, but when puberty hits males can turn on each other within seconds. And if they ever start fighting it might difficult or impossible to bond them, they may forget why, but they can remember that that one is the foe. You could end up to keep 2 or 3 seperate rabbits.

Here, I would have them neutered before puberty, so they never go macho, easier to bond than grown up neutered males (difficult combination anyway), but it seems that isn't a common practice in the US. At least, I would have them neutered asap.
It really depends on the individual characters, imho having 3 match needs way more luck than two.