I had to decide: Operation VS waiting...

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mouse_chalk

Reaction score
Soo... I'm sure some of you will remember that I had surgery about 6 weeks ago (that long already?!), on my back- a pilonidal abscess. I was told at the time that this likely wouldn't fix the problem long term, and I would need another 'more definitive procedure' in the future. They originally wanted to wait 3 months before referring me but that was just too long for me so with my private healthcare I arranged to see a consulant privately yesterday.

His opinion was that I could either wait and see if I heal now from the previous surgery, and hope that it doesn't come back again, but I've been doing that now for the past 6/7 years after 6 surgeries, and it hasn't worked so far! The other option is to go for further surgery, PAINFUL surgery. I wont go into gory details unless anyone wants to, but it basically involves moving skin from the nearby area over the wound and stitching it all up. Apparently there's about an 80-85% success rate of it staying healed up for good and the abscess/sinus not returning ever again... Well, I like the sound of that!