Husbun has lost his bunny wife.

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MyGrandbunns

Reaction score
Hello there everyone. I am new to this lovely site. I have Grandbunnies- my daughters- she moved in with her boyfriend and they aren't allowed pets. So grandma- me-has had the "kids" still living with me for 2 years. They lived in our kitchen/dining room- with semi-frequent escapes/ adventures through the rest of the house.
Our precious boy bunny survived gut stasis 2 yrs ago- we were very close to losing him but he made it through. All has been fine and then last week i was giving them their supper and noticed girl bunny eating her carrot slowly not ravenously like normal. I went to bed but by the time i got up i found her sitting by herself in the pantry- clearly very very unwell. Rushed her to the vet. They weren't sure but thought stasis. Her temp was very low and they couldn't warm her up. Without invasive tests they weren't sure. My daughter decided to put her out of pain and our little girl was put to sleep. The thing is I have read how the surviving rabbit of a bonded pair will pine and not eat etc however our boy seems fine and has even been binkying around the house. I have been giving him alot of kisses and patting time, and our little dog runs around him- though looking for food. I hate for him to be lonely but don't want to get another bunny. Has anyone had anythings they have found helpful? I wondered about moving him to my bedroom at night- though miss doggy sleeps with me and seems quite miffed when he comes in to explore. Thanks everyone- sorry for the long long tale.

Thanks for the background information.