HUGE problem, please help

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kel

Reaction score
my bunny had a bout with stasis, went to the vet overnight, sent home on antibiotics and probiotics (no idea why these both at the same time? but vet said dont worry???) anyway, hes been off the meds for two weeks and still really wont eat. He's losing a ton of weight and is all bones now, we're force feeding him critical care a few times a day, but since im a college student, i cant feed him this more than twice a day, since i need someone to hold him also. He does have an appetite, but for things that arent food, like my pants, paint off the woodwork, or the carpet, but he still wont eat his food. I cant afford another 327 dollar vet visit, but i dont want my rabbit to die!!!! what do i do??? please help

Oh no.. . Where are you located? Can you put that in your profile?

Stasis is a symptom, not really the cause of health problems. Did your vet say what may have been the initial problem? Did they run any tests?

How exactly did the problem start?

Right off the top, if you're in the US, try and find some Nutri-Cal, it's a calorie/vitamin supplement made for cats and dogs but it's great for rabbits. It comes in a tube.

The pet stores and vets should carry it.

What breed is your bunny? How old is he?

sas :?

I have to use a probiotic with my rat because he is on Baytril. Using a probiotic replenishes the gut flora. I use yogurt with my rat, but feeding a rabbit yogurt is a very bad idea.

I am curious to know what your vet told you to use as a probiotic.