Hello, I’m a total newbie

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello, just adopted a rabbit yesterday. Don’t know what breed or how old he is. His name is Dortmund.

I got him from a couple who didn’t want him. When I picked him up his cage was filthy — layers and layers of poop. I don’t think the people I got him from ever cleaned just added more layers of bedding once the old layer was too disgusting. It took me 2 hours to scrub the cage clean.

I should say that I know absolutely nothing about Rabbits. My therapist suggested I get a pet to help with with my PTSD and they don’t allow dogs in my building.

I’ve bought Dortmund a much bigger cage, and also a wire enclosure for him to run around in when he is out of the cage. I also made a hidy hole out of an Amazon box that I cut holes into and ripped off all the packing tape; he spends a lot of time in there. Which is fine. I’m trying not to interact with him too much since I personally would be terrified if I was taken away from my home by a giant. I mostly feed him bits of apple through the bars of the cage.

I scheduled a vet appointment in two weeks, to have him looked over.

Any advice would be appreciated. I have absolutely no idea what I am doing.

Last edited: