A New Aspect of the Animal World

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ivory

Reaction score
Well, guys, I'm quite experienced with rabbits and rodents- this is quite true. I've got considerable experience with cats and dogs, too. But unfortunately, I've no experience with livestock (well unless you consider rabbits to be). But I decided to gain some. I thought horses- horses are beautiful, and so majestic and mesmerizing...I love horses. But I decided against for now. Then I thought dairy cattle...but I decided to wait a little while on that. Soooo. I decided on something I never thought I'd have an interest in...

The swine unit.

Yes, swine. Porcines. Aka....pigs.

Yes, I know they smell. Yes, I know that boars aren't always nice and that they smell. My dad actually laughed out loud when I told them I was going to work in the swine unit.

But yeah, I'm branching out...to pigs.

One funny thing I've got to learn...how to artificially inseminate. Pig people have insemination rods randomly hanging around all over the place, and I've never heard people so enthralled about it before...okay so maybe all livestock people...but seriously...our teacher was giving us a lecture using the rod as a pointer for the powerpoints. I almost fell to the floor laughing.

I hope this goes well and I like this LOL.

LOL! Piggies are fun tho! Just be careful cause if you get in a group they can hurt you. ONE can bite and knock you down too..... but groups have been known to kill a person.

Pigs are very intelligent and have saved countless human lives through research.
I think they are awesome! :)

Oh yes- I've been warned about those mama sows. I'm told they aren't pleasant to work with at times.

It's definitely something interesting to work with. I've been told, however, that I'll be showering every day before coming into the house LOL!