Wrinkly kits, is this normal?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CiaraPatricia

Reaction score
This sounds like a weird question, but I'm worried that there's something wrong with my 3 day old kits. Compared to photos of my last 2 litters at 3 days (same parents), they're way more wrinkly, and their fur is shiny and it looks weird. They also seem small but are wriggly and being well fed and were born on the 31st day, same as the other litters.

Here's a photo, it's not great cos it was at the back of the shed and I didn't want to move into better light in case the mom was upset. But you can see how wrinkly they look and how the fur is shiny and with the wrinkles it just looks weird . . .

photo044.jpg

I know kits are wrinkly, but this looks weird to me, like they're excessively wrinkly. But I'm still kinda new to this cos it's only my third litter.

Hopefully nothing is wrong with them, cos they seem otherwise normal and always have fat bellies when I check on them. But has anyone else seen kits like that? They're all like that.

Oh and they're lionheads . . . there's six in the litter.

A breeder said they might be dehydrated or not getting enough milk and to check the mom's milk. I don't know if there's a specific way to check but I squeezed her nipples and no milk at all came out.

Then I checked the babies, who all have round bellies, and looked less wrinkly, though some were still a bit wrinkly. Maybe the mum just fed them and that's why she has no milk? Or would she have a bit anyway?

The mum has lots of dry food, veggies (including dark green), hay and water. Would parsley help with milk production? I think I heard that it does.

I'll check her milk again in the morning.