Worried about backyard breeder

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BunnyBlessings

Katherine
Reaction score
Not sure how to communicate my thoughts as my thoughts tend to get tangled up, but I saw this craigslist ad that confirms my worries about the place where I adopted Grace. (Am I supposed to break links like this or leave them together?? Still a newbie here..)

http://gainesville.craigslist.org/for/4083072239.html

But I can totally see why this person would report something like this.

When I went to get Grace, the place was really sad. It was a small farm, almost entirely dirt and very little grass, located away from the main road on a long dirt road. It was run by a couple who lived in this trailer that looked so old, it might collapse at the slightest touch. Love bugs swarmed everywhere. Dusty horses ate hay and drank from their water buckets. A little dog kept nipping at my ankles. Scrawny kittens chased the bugs everywhere, and behind the trailer were about 20 rabbits, living in cheap, rusty cages outside, shaded by a tarp roof. I worried about the condition of the animals themselves, but I didn't know if I was overreacting, or if my feelings were valid. I naively blew my feelings off, telling myself that these people are probably just extremely poor and are trying to make a living.

They told me that they were a rabbit rescue, and would screen everyone who came to adopt. Yet there was no paperwork for me to sign or anything like that.