Wire floors

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Akkatia

Reaction score
I was on a different forum talking about my rabbits, and I showed pictures of them, and someone noticed the wire floor on all of their cages. So they started saying that that's not good for my rabbits, and I tried to reason with them that I thought they were good. I've been using them for five years, and never have I had a problem... So are they good? Everyone around here says it's first class choice.

If you want to see the whole thing, go to XXXXXXXXXXX and then to the hamster forum, and pic the board called "Pet Pics" and you'll see it. It's called "Some Favorites in the Rabbitry."

Anyway, maybe I've been misled my whole rabbit career...:?

A concern was raised about this post, so the name of the forum has been removed due to the "no advertising other forums" policy as well as to protect the innocent. :cool:

We would liketo educate, not encourage flaming posters on other forums.

Pam

It is common practice to use wire flooring for rabbits in the United States because it keeps them cleaner and helps to prevent certain diseasesby minimizingcontact with urine and feces.

Some breeds may not do well on wire flooring and may need an alternate solid floor. (Belgian Hares, for example, generally cannot be kept on wire flooring).

In many other countries, solid flooring is preferred.

Pam

i always THOUGHT it was not good to have wire floors because its uncomfortabe for the rabbit and can contribute to sore hocks.....my rabbits are all littered trained so they use the litter box in their cage when i actually have them caged.