Wire Caging

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rabbitsrock_love

Reaction score
Ok, so I brought a wire cage for Snowflake but I knew wire hurts buns' paws, so I decided putting some paper on top of the wire for this past week, but it doesn't provide much cusion. But I see some people's buns' cages have a carpet material on the bottom. I want to put that for Snowflake, but I'm scared that she'll poo/pee all over that carpet!! what should I do? Litter train her? (But then again, I don't know how to litter train a bun!!!) Help please!!! :)Thank you!!!

(I'm new to the world of buns, sorry for my ignorance!!)

You /can/ liter train any rabbit. I bought a buck from a breeder, gave him a litter pan, and he did it himself. Obviously, he'd never seen one before. X3

Even in the pans of my herd, each rabbit has picked their own pee and poop spot. There's literally piles of poo in certain corners. LOL!

Although, wire bottoms can be perfectly fine. My rabbits live most of their lives on it... Only times off are their outdoor times, and time spent on the grooming and judging table! I've had only one case of any kind of sore hocks, and it was so minimal I didn't even need to treat it, other than keeping it from getting infected. If you're that worried, EZ mats are available from places like Bass Equipment, for cheap. They're easier on the feet then wire. If thats not an option, even a piece of plywood. (Another favorite of mine for babies) Just have to disinfect every now and then.

Welcome to the world of bunnies! It's a pretty crazy one~

put coroplast down over the wire if you want. i find it very good and easy to clean. i also put towels that i bought only for the bun down for something a bit more comfy. they remove easy and just go in the washing (i tend to wash those separate though)