What in the world is this color?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gentle giants

Reaction score
Ok, my last Mini Rex litter was really colorful.I got a black, a white, a castor, a broken black, and a broken mystery! I posted it on another rabbit forum, and a couple of people have guessed broken lynx. The thing is, the mother isn't pedigreed, so I have no idea what is in her background. I have a feeling it's a rainbow of colors, unfortunatly. The doe is broken castor, BTW, and the father is castor.

Here's a pic of it at a week old. I thought it was a blue then, but it sure doesn't look blue now!

BTW, can someone tell me how to post more than one pic in one post?

My vote is on Broken Lynx. Do you have any pics of its head too. At a week old, it looked like Broken Opal. However, in the other pic, looks more orange colored so I am guessing Lynx.

Sharon

Easy tell...

On the colored portion of it's back.... when you blow into the coat, is it a white or light color.... or is it a dark color?

White/Light I would lean towards a Blue Fawn, a poorly colored Opal, or Lynx (my specialty! ;)).
Dark, means Opal for sure.

Honestly though... I'm thinking it's a blue Fawn. Only test breeding would be the sure tell-tale. :?

~Sunshine

I don't see the blue or lilac in it.

It looks like a chocolate agouti to me.

Roger L

Hello Roger & welcome to the Forum!

I have to disagree though... I regularly have Chocolate Agouti's & it looks nothing like that. Ch.Agouti's have a more "rufus" coloring... like Castors. This bun is Definately a dilute.

Here are some Chocolate Agouti pictures:

Resized_GRLND.jpg
Resized_KAHL.jpg
Resized_SWAR.jpg

Here are some Lilac-Fawn Pictures (Clean, no smut):

Resized_FAWNLA.jpg
Resized_PlayDough3.jpg
Resized_PlayDoughSide.jpg

Resized_PlayDoughHead.jpg

Not the greatest pictures, but here is one of a Genetic Blue-Fawn: