What color are they

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marie_martin

Reaction score
If he has blue eyes, I'm guessing he's avienna-marked sable point. You will not want to breed him as he willthrow mismarked babies. I'm guessing he has white somewhere on him -under his nose - on a toe - something like that.

To me, she appears to be broken tort.

Peg

He has blue eyes but they are overcast with red.He is white with that sable color over cast. He was almost completelywhite and then got more of the sable as he grew up. I was just curiousabout what color you thought. I had been told she was a broken tortbefore but thought I would ask while asking about him. What do you meanby mismarked babies. I am new to rabbits?

Is he actually a holland lop or maybe mixed? I was told holland lop, heis larger than a mini lop from what I have read. What are the otherdifferences between the two?

Marie

I'm horrible at knowing the differences betweenholland and mini lops so I'm not much help there. But first a question- are you in the US or somewhere else? I ask because they are calleddifferent things in different countries and I only know the USnames.....

My concern about the blueish eyes is the fact that I believe he isgoing to be a vienna carrier. The vienna gene when bred to anotherrabbit without the gene will give you mismarked babies (I'll show somepictures in a minute but I need to upload them to photobucket.comfirst). If you bred him to another vienna carrier, you could getBEWs...Blue Eyed White babies.

I guess what I'm saying is - I would not use him for breeding unlessyou were going to breed for blue eyed whites - as any babies from himcould carry the gene (they would have something like a 50% chance ofcarrying it) and create mismarks for other breeders.

I will close this comment and go upload photos and come back and add them.

Peg