What brands to feed?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blabauve

Reaction score
I just got my first rabbit! It is a 1 year old english angora buck. I sell dog food for a living and am somewhat of a pet food snob. I know NOTHING about rabbit food but would like to feed a good brand pellet and get the best hay (if there is such a thing) possible. Any advice is appreciated!

Angora rabbits do have different needs than other breeds. The pellets should have at least 16% protein, but some people do use a higher protein pellet. They need the protein to grow wool and if they don't get it they will take the protein from their bodies and get thin. They can also chew the wool if they don't get enough protein. You will probably have to go to a feed store brand to get a suitable pellet as the brands sold in most pet stores just don't seem to work very well for angoras. I have tried a higher end 16% protein pellet with my angoras and about 6 months of them being on it they had lost weight and were chewing the wool. I have had Lillian (my current Giant angora) on a feed store brand for a year now and she does very well on it.

The brand of hay doesn't really matter. Timothy or other grass hay is best. Angoras do need lot of fibre especially when they are in a fuller coat as they can be ingesting more wool. The hay should be green, but not an artificial green. It should smell fresh and not dusty. I have had bales and are dusty and make cough in the car and others that smell sweet and I am just fine with. I buy bales of hay as it is much cheaper than bagged hay and with 4 rabbits I need to cut costs where ever I can.