Weight Gain

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GinChinSing

Reaction score
I'm still pretty new to rabbits and all of mine are pretty young. I've had them for a month and some of you may know that one of them had an abscess which I'm still working on. The rabbits are due to be spayed and snipped within the next two months as well.

After having guinea pigs and reptiles, I know that it's not a bad idea to weigh our small pets at least monthly, if not weekly. I was bad about putting this month's weights into my little weight chart on my computer and did it tonight after weighing the bunnies.

Hare, my biggest rabbit actually lost weight this month and I don't know why. She went from 1473g to 1463g. I'm not sure if I should be worried or not. Jumper went from 811g to 975g, which is pretty good. He's a solid fellow. The big surprise came from Little Bun...

Little Bun went from 798g on August 15th to 1025g today. That's 227g in a month! I knew he was a little skinny, but I never thought he would gain so much! I'm also starting to question my vet's opinion that Little Bun is a male. I don't see any boy parts. That's another story though.

She only lost 10 grams. That is not really a lot. I would not really worry about that. However, since she is young, not gaining weight can be an issue since she is not growing. If she is around 5-6 months, she could be slowing down and reaching the adult weight. You can try feeding her a bit more pellets to help her gain some weight. Keep an eye on her weight, try to weigh her weekly if you can. If you notice that she keeps losing weight, then talk with your vet about it as there could be something wrong.