To Hay or Not to Hay!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Buck Jones

Reaction score
As a neophyte rabbit owner, I purchased hay because I had heard somewhere that rabbits enjoyed it. The feed store sold me alfalfa hay because I did not know I could specify other types at that time. As our herd increased, the use ofalfalfa hay as bedding and food, in addition to pelleted feed, seemed to present no apparent problems

As I became more lagomorph educated, Ichanged over to timothy hay for all the good reasons most of us chose to use that type. I have been using it now for several years and have noticed no ill effects, nor particular problems.

Of late, due to my reading,research, veterinary contacts, and comments made here andon other forums I've begun to mull over and reconsider some of my hereto fore basic assumptions.

HRS, our European friends, our own favorite veterinarian, and people like Kathy Smith,the author of Rabbit Health in the21st Century, have all been promulgating a more natural diet for our pets. When we brought Ernest(ine) to our vet to besexed, for example, he suggested, based upon his most recent research, thatalfalfa hay be the major portion of her diet, supported by pelleted feed because it was more natural and provided prophylacticdental care at the same time. I note that the thread on teeth recently posted here kind of says the same thing.

One of the breeders I most highly respect, one Mr. Rick Stahl has stated that he provides little or no hay for his herd because his research and experience indicates his rabbits receive sufficient protein and fiber from the alfalfa based pelleted food he uses that is manufactured by Purina.He does imply though, that not all pelleted feeds would equally provide the same nutritional characteristics.