Soaking Vegetables

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fynnagin

Reaction score
Ihave read a lot on here about soaking vegetables before feeding to increase water consumption. Inmy research I have also read that soaking vegetables can decrease the vitamins and nutritional value of the vegetables.

My question is is it worth the few extra ounces of water if it means loosing nutritional value?

For routine feeding or for a sick rabbit?
Honestly, I'm no expert, but from what research I've done, a rabbit eating a diet of mainly hay and veggies tends to have far less GI problems than those who eat pellets, and also these rabbits tend to drink less, because they get more moisture in their food. So if your rabbit eats a good amount of veggies, and doesn't overeat pellets, you may not see a high water consumption.

If a rabbit is sick and you're worried about dehydration, then I've read to give them wet greens to increase water consumption. I don't see how it would cause them to lose nutritional value if you wet the greens. And I'm not sure soaking them provides any more moisture than wetting them directly before feeding.

I could be wrong.. this is just my understanding..

Thanks!
I am talking about routine feeding. My buns eat lots of hay and veggies, few pellets and seem to drink plenty. I currently just pull my prepared veggies out of the fridge and feed.
I didn't understand the whole loss of nutritional value either but read it in a few places.

I wasn't aware about that. It makes some sense, but I would imagine that the amount of vitamins lost isn't that much. I know amy27 routinely soaks her veggies for a bunny with bladder sludge issues, in order to get more water into her. I don't think she's seen problems with loss of vitamins. I like to soak some veggies when I see poops I don't like (expect stasis/slowdow), which isn't that regular anyway.