Should i buy the calicivirus vaccine and inject my bunnie myself?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

babytired

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
i am new to the website and i bought my 3rd rabbit last week from a breeder. She told me where to get the calivirus vaccine. i wonder if i can buy and inject my bunnies without going to the vet. hope to hear from any of you...
thanks
Veronique

What country are you from?

If you are inexperiencedat giving injections, I would have it done at the vet.

Pam

Rabbits need vaccines? I was unaware of that! I've never heard of giving bunns vaccines. If I plan on going to shows, are they recommended? What/when/how are they given? I have lots of experience giving vaccines, just don't know if they need to be IM or Sub-Q.

Vaccines are usually given IM, at least in humans. An IM injection is technically quite challenging in rabbits, at least more so than sub-q. It should say on the bottle or on a website that sells the vaccine how it should be injected.

CapriceAcres, there aren't any vaccines for rabbits in the US. Calcivirus, myxomatosis, and viral hemorrhagic disease aren't common in the states, but they are common in the UK, Aus, and NZ, and I would assume most of Europe as well. There have only been a few isolated pockets of those diseases in the US so the vaccines are not available or commonly given.

Ahhh, OK. I was hoping I wasn't missing something on the health of my Buns!

I would find it odd if vaccines were developed for rabbits to be intramuscular, simply for the reason that IM shots damage muscle tissue, making it undesirable for consumption. Generally speaking, rabbits are livestock bred for meat (I know not all breeds or people breed for meat) but a vaccine that lowers meat quality would be unusual, IMO. I would assume most rabbit vaccines would be Sub-Q, which are really easy to give. :)