Rabbit without hay will die??!!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kyo

Reaction score
I'm new with rabbits so I've heard that hay makesup around 70% of a rabbit's meal. So does that mean if a rabbit goeswithout hay, he/she will die?

I'm feeding my Riku hay and pellets. But before I did, she went withouthay for weeks and in turn, became very thin. I brought her to theclinic and the vet told me a rabbit NEEDS hay!! So immediately I gaveher hay and pellets, in hopes of making her fat again.

Riku also starte to poo alot. So I'm thinking does this have anything to do with her lack of hay? Is she having diarrheah(sp)?

WelcomeKyo,

No, it's not true. A good rabbit pellet has enough of fiber in it (usually 18%+) to provide the rabbit with what it needs.

I'm going to bump up a post by Buck Jones, "To Hay or Not to Hay". There's more detail in there about Hay.

:)

-Carolyn

Will rabbits die without hay??? itdepends on the rest of the rabbits diet. hay CAN save lives,but if rabbits are getting enough fiber in their diet without it thenit is not NECESSARY, tho nice. If a rabbit is getting diareahthen it might need hay for extra fiber, therefore can be saved fromdying. Hay does not make up 70% of a rabbits diet.What is the fiber content on your pellet? what brand is it?Are her stools goopy (sorry) or nice and hard and round?

Kyo,

Also bumped up a post for you by rockstaramez "My bunnies got diarrhea."

It's got suggestions in there as to what you can do if they do get diarrhea.

-Carolyn

Rabbits can receive adequate fiber through otherfoods in their diet. Pellets are designed to provide the RDArequirements for rabbits and fiber can also be provided through fruits,vegetables and greens.

Pam

Thanks pple! :p

Riku is doing much better now. She's eating hay and pellets and I made sure she drinks plenty of water.