Questions Re: Wild Cottontail medical care

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bunbunbinkie

Reaction score
I have aquired a 6-8 week old male wild Florida bunny who was attacked by a cat. The owner of the cat brought the rabbit in to my work (I work as a tech at a vet hospital) and we did what we could for him. The little guy has some pretty wicked looking wounds but is eating and drinking well. He has a dime size laceration on his right rear leg and a large number of smaller lesions that we were able to close with surgical glue. The largest wound he has involves his anal area. The wound is not an open one, but there looks to have been some trama that caused his penis to remain out.

I am currently treating him with Penicillin G injections SQ and twice daily dilute chlorihexedine soaks/light scrubs. I have also been giving him fluids SQ to make sure he stays hydrated. He is eating well on timothy hay and raddachio/tango/baby romaine mix and seems to be drinking a little. He has full use of all his limbs. Because his penis is permanently extruded I have been applying petroleum jelly to keep it lubricated and comfortable. He is urinating and defecating normally.

I have"rehabed" maybe only a handful of wild rabbits, but all of them have been able to be released once they were healthy/old enough to send on their way. This is the first one I have taken on that may not be able to be released (if the penis is permanently damaged I don't know if he will be able to be released?)

I just wondered if anyone could shed some light on what else I can do, or if I should change something. I am prepared to keep him if necessary but would like to release him if I could. How well do they do in captivity if I do have to keep him due to his injuries?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks, Kayleigh