Question about bonding rabbits...?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Crisi1987

Reaction score
Well, i have 4 dwarf rabbits, 3 are about 2-3 months old and the other is 6 months old about. were really not sure, the pet store of course had no idea. anyways, i was trying to introduce the older one who is a girl with a littler one who were really not sure what sex it is. but when i put them in a neutral area the little one tried to snuggle with the older one and all she did was run up to him and push on his back legs, i dont get what she is trying to do. is it bad or good? is she trying to bite him? whenever she does this i stop her so she doesnt try to fight with the little one. but since this is my first time bonding rabbits i have no idea what shes doing means.

I'd really wait until they are all spayed/neutered. You don't want to risk an accidental pregnancy, plus rabbits can change a lot once they hit puberty. There's been a lot of cases where rabbits that were inseperable as babies hate each other as adults, and they can have dangerous and even deadly fights.

By "pushing on their back legs" were they mounting? Or nudging each other?

This is a really good site on bonding that you might want to read.
http://www.mybunnies.com/bonding.htm

naturestee wrote:
There's been a lot of cases where rabbits that were inseperable as babies hate each other as adults, and they can have dangerous and even deadly fights.

This is very true and I have littermates that are Netherland Dwarfs that can't stand each other. Mind you - I have photos of them sleeping together when they were little - and sleeping with Tiny, my Flemish Giant.

I would keep them separated until you not only know their sex - but have then neutered.