Possibly expecting whoops litter

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kaycejones

Reaction score
I had my boy neutered and recieved a rescue female at the same time. Unfortunately he broke down her pen and after a night of shenanigans he became painful ending up in GI stasis which we treated aggressively and very unfortunately unsuccessfully ending in him being euthanized today a week later. I'm devastated by his loss but this is about the possibility he bred my new girl that night. Tumble was special, he had ataxia caused by e. Cuniculi. He was still rather good at getting around but there's a possibility he missed his mark.

I'm reading I should palpate around 14 days, I've also read I can take rads(I'm a vet tech) around 21 days or so. Anyone know when I may be able to ee via ultrasound?

I never intended to breed them but now am kinda hoping just because of how upset I am over losing my boy.

Any resources for raising a possible litter? Momma is a pet indoor rabbit.

Also any ideas on colors that may be expected from a fawn broken/spotted and a blackself partial lionhead?

Imho, forget palpating. It wont tell you anything conclusive if you're not quite experienced anyway. Not "should", 2 weeks is the earliest time palpating might work, not for me though. Only reason I see to do it is when you want to breed that doe desperatly and find out if you should stuff her in with the buck again.

Just do pretty much nothing for 25 days. Feed her normally, with free feeding hay, maybe somewhat more pellets or whatever you feed.
At day 25-27 or so you can give her a nest box, and lots of hay. Don't stress her out with vet visits if there isn't anything wrong. What they need is rest, quite and privacy then. Your rabbit is not sick, being pregnant is something pretty normal for rabbits.