Pellets.

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rachaeeelanneee

Reaction score
Okay so I know there's some controversy on how much pellets should be fed to our buns and I need someone to clear that up. I've heard baby buns (8weeks) should only have 1/4 a cup of pellets a day, and then some say that's for buns all ages and others say that you should give your bun unlimited pellets and others say no pellets. My bun's about 13weeks old, so how much pellets should I be feeding him? Thanks!

Depends on your bunny's breed, current size (overweight or under?), and what pellet you are feeding.

He's a holland lop, and he's maybe 3lbs, possibly 4. I'm not good with weight and I don't have a scale. I'm feeding him KAYTEE nutritional pellets.

I can only speak for what I personally do. I feed my lionhead cross, 1/8 c per day. She weighs 4.5 pounds. I chose to only feed this amount after doing my own research, asking a couple of vets and also getting my rabbit, check ups and weigh ins. Her fur is shiny, she's got really good energy and her poops are good. She seems to be very healthy. I would like to point out however that I do give her a good variety of fresh, organic greens and she gets unlimited timothy hay.

Someone that doesn't give greens may have to supplement with more pellets, it's really hard to give a definitive answer because there are so many variables. It's also up to your rabbits digestion. Some can't handle any pellets, some only a bit. I have found that it's sort of trial and error to find what works best but it's important to get your rabbit's weight checked to make sure they are healthy.

I give him greens every day as well as unlimited hay, but he really doesn't eat that much hay. Alfalfa and otherwise. I've been giving him 1/4 a cup everyday but he just eats it all so fast that I'm not sure if I should be giving him more