Oliver's Problems

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ratmom

Reaction score
I just needed some info before I can get oliver into the vet. He's always had this eye leakage problem and he had his tear duct drained before, but lately he's been having more of this white gunk coming out of it with no smell. He has no other symptoms like nasal drainage either.
Also he had this lump starting growing near his jaw feels like in his cheek and there are too lumps side by side I can feel pretty sure they are attached. I have no experience with rabbit abscesses and was curious if abscesses do this. I've dealt with abscesses in rats, but I've never seen them grow side by side. He's eating fine without a problem so that is good and no smell from his mouth. What kind of antibiotics do vets usually use for this or do they drain them? I'm anxious to get him to the vet.

Sorry for all the questions ;)

I treat abscesses quite differently than most...including vets. If I am dealing with a true abscess, I do not open the capsule. I have found that just exposes more tissue to possible infection. I treat totally with drugs. The problem in treating abscesses is reaching the core of the infection. I use a combination of Pen G and Zithromax and have been successful in each abscess event. This combination of drugs seems to be safe (keeping in mind that all medical procedures carry risk) and it can reach the core of the abscess. The core is usually filled with anaerobic bacteria. The most commonly used antibiotics used by vets are not up to the task of treating anaerobes. I also implement appropriate pain management and husbandry modifications to provide support in all areas.