O/T a touch of lutherie

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rabbitgirl

Reaction score
Many of you know I am a violinist by trade andalso am a luthier (lutherie is the craft of repairing and/or buildingstringed instruments, especially violins).

In April, after 5 years or more of searching and a year of negotiating,Ibought a replacement for my beloved "little Strad", apowerful deep-voiced German Strad copy I still love to play. However,as my style changes, I needed an instrument capable of more subtlety.It was a quest of many years and many many violins, but I found abeautiful French Lupot copy with a tone like crystal and a thousandshades of color in its voice.

Unfortunately, like the little Strad, it needed huge repairs. Therepair bill was nearly $5000, and very complex reconstruction wasneeded.

I am very thankful to be a luthier, because I was able to fix it myselfat no cost. It is currently in several pieces, to be rejoined tonightafter three days of hard work. I was up at 5:30 this morning to finishlast-minute patches.

Most old violins have patches--the real Stradivaris have many!--but theaverage old instrument has about 10 or less. I believe my little Stradhas 7. My Lupot has 22. Each patch, or cleat, iscarefully made and placed by hand, and the whole process takes hours.While it looks odd, the cleats do not affect the sound of theinstrument but will greatly prolong its life. To make matters worse,some IDIOT varnished the inside, a real taboo, which means thatin order to place each patch I have to scrape off the varnish verycarefully in order to let the cleats adhere. Added lots of extra timeand problems to this job.

This is my new-old instrument:

Belly

164d1895.jpg

Back

6bfdbdab.jpg

Ribs and neck

c6b79e84.jpg

Inside of back

928d90aa.jpg

Inside of top (notice the little white patches--3 days work!)

3a36182f.jpg