New owner, new enclosure for our rabbit!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ted

Reaction score
INTRO

Hi guys, the girlfriend and I recently purchased our first rabbit - male, 10 weeks old. Not sure of the breed, but he's black and white...!

Anyway, I'm looking to build him a nice indoor enclosure as we want him domesticated and not left outside on his own.

We've had him just four days now but he's settled in rather well and has a lovely disposition, it took just a couple of days for him to become relax and comfortable enough with our presence to sprawl in his cage etc.

I realise there are many different views on how a rabbit should be treated and kept but my take is that if we handle him often, treat him when we do and handle him very gentle with no sudden movements or loud noises he'll become accustomed to us and happy.

With that in mind (and I'm no expert) we haven't covered his cage nor given him a box to hide in, we want to see him and for him to see us - so far his inquisitive side seems to favour this, he likes to watch us watching the TV at night!

Before we give him free roam of the kitchen, living room and dinning room (his cage is in here) we'd like to expand his current cage to an indoor enclosure.

QUESTIONS

If I were to buy the below cage/enclosure am I best to put and MDF base under it, or perhaps double layered cardboard? I'm thinking the cardboard would be the better option because it'll be easier to clean i.e. we can simply throw it away, or is MDF OK as it can be wiped?

I don't want to leave him on carpet just in case he does a wee or worse, eats the carpet and destroys his digestive system!

Does the below look suitable ( 144 x 116 x 58 cm (L x W x H) ) - http://www.zooplus.co.uk/shop/small_pets/hutches_cages/runs_fencing/pens_with_racks/35638

It will fit perfectly in to the space/corner below -

hubert_enclosure.jpg