New bunny owner

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BunnyM4m4

Reaction score
I'm new to having rabbits and I wanted to know a few things. First, how does bonding work? Is it possible for my rabbit to bond with my cat? And second , my bunny has a bit of a temper and tends to bite when she doesn't get her way, can I change that? Like reward and punishment? Lastly, litterbox training?

It probably sounds stupid but I wish she was sweeter. She loves cuddling but will bite i If you don't pet her.

They won’t exactly “bond” with a cat, but they can definitely make friends :) can work well for bunnies that don’t get on well with other bunnies.
Is your bunny spayed? Entire, hormonal rabbits can be more aggressive than spayed rabbits. If she is being too bitey, you can try letting out a squeal when she does bite, to let her know it hurts. If she gets too mean you can try shutting her into a cage/pen as a sort of time out. How old is she? They can be extra grumpy when going through puberty.
Again, litterbox training is easier with a bunny that has been spayed. Start by putting the litter tray in an area she likes to pee a lot. If she doesn’t pee in there, wipe up the pee with a tissue and put the tissue in the litter tray so she recognises the smell and recognises that as her territory. Also, make sure you only have substrate in the litter tray and keep the rest of her area as just hard surface - they prefer not to pee in hard surface as they get their bum wet.
Does she have a cage? Pen? Free range? It is best to restrict to a smaller area while litter training and gradually increase the roaming area as she gets better.
I hope I answered all the questions! Feel free to ask some more!

What Popsicles said.