Neutered and Marking - New Pet - Please help!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ShreddersMom

Reaction score
I have a neutered two year old lop who has been absolutely PERFECT with his litter box skills. I've had him since November and he got neutered in January. It's awesome since he is a free range bunny.
Recently, I got a guinea pig and now we have some problems...

The rabbit doesn't like the guinea pig which I guess is expected because I know they shouldn't live together. So the rabbit is free range and the guinea pig is caged. I tried to see if they would tolerate eachother but the rabbit just tries to chase her all the time. For now, since they are in one room (I'm a student) the rabbit has free roam and sometimes I X pen him and let the guinea pig run around to play.

Now, what has been happening is the rabbit poops and pees ALL AROUND the guinea pigs's cage. Unless I keep it not on the floor, when I wake up there is poo EVERYWHERE surrounding the cage. Last night, he hopped on top of the bars and even pooped inside the guinea pigs cage though the bars on the roof... (He's quite the sassy one that boy.)

I know these two can't live together but I was atleast hoping that eventually he'd get used to the guinea pig. What can I do to have him atleast accept her scent and potentially get along? I thought since he a lone bunny he would appreciate the company but he wants nothing to do with any other pets and any other scents...
Also, would this mean that if I ever wanted to bond him he would be difficult to bond or is this simply a misunderstanding of body language between species...?
Any help is appreciated!

:bunny5