Neuter/Spay Confusion

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gussy

Reaction score
I'm new to this...and a little confusednow. All the books that I've read said that for the bunniesto be litter trained, they have to be spayed or neutered.However, while looking for bunnies I've been told that it is notnecessary. So what is it?

Thanks!

They dont have to be spayed/nuetered, but itreally helps for litter training. Also, its good for females to bespayed because it lowers their chances for cancer. And if you ever wantto bond your bunny with another, having it spayed/neutered will helpwith that as well.

Gussy, who the heck told you that? Rabbits areone of the easiest animals to litter train(Easier than cats!!)!! Cocoalearned right off the bat at 5 weeks old!! You don't need to tamperwhith your rabbit's body to make them "litter trained." Both my bunsare not nuetured and they do great!!

Rabbits generally don't have to be spayed orneutered to be litter trained, although it does help in most cases.Rabbits can bevery territorial, so it can be hard to littertrain them when they always have the urgeto mark theirterritory. One of my girls is very good with her litter boxand she isn't spayed, but the other one is getting a bit better.

I read the info about spaying/neutering on some pet magazines. Should I or should I not?

They are going to be in the cage when no one is in the house, but we'llprobably let them run around inside the house when we arehome. I'm just worried that they'll start doing it everywhere.

Will it be a problem if one is spayed/neutered and the other is not?

Thanks!

It would be great if you could both spay andneuter them. I am assuming you have a male and a female. If you have tochose though, I suggest getting the female spayed to reduce the risk ofcancer.

- Amy