My new baby bunny seems huge!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

foreverblue127

Reaction score
My new bun that is three months old seems to be quite large. But as far as buns go I am not sure how large he is supposed to be. He is a Holland lop/dutch rabbit mix. when he is laying down flat he seems to be about a 10-12 inches long. I am NOT counting his legs either! From his nose to his bum. Is this about right? I am new to owning rabbits.I got my other rabbit as an adult. I know size varies by breed...

How much does he weigh?

When I was younger I bought an adult "dutch" rabbit that was supposidly full grown. Turned out to be a baby American Chinchilla! She grew and grew and grew!!! Sometimes it may be buyer beware. The guy knew what answer I wanted.

Well the humane society had pictures of both parents and the bunnies birth date. He looks exactly like his father the Holland lop. He cannot even be neutered yet because he's too young.The people who had them seemed to take really good care of him, I don't really see a reason for them to lie about it.He's well socialized although still shy.He's just a big boy I guess. Even the lady at the humane society commented on how big he is. What's a typical size for a three month old?

MiniLopHop wrote:
How much does he weigh?

When I was younger I bought an adult "dutch" rabbit that was supposidly full grown. Turned out to be a baby American Chinchilla! She grew and grew and grew!!! Sometimes it may be buyer beware. The guy knew what answer I wanted.
No way :O you owned an american chinchilla, i almost consider that a prize more then a lie from the seller! Ive read they are at risk for extinction, and the history behind them is amazing.

My holland boy was about 2lbs at 3 months old and ended up at 4lbs. His body is very short and stocky, so he's not 10-12" long when he lays down.