My girl is a boy!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SugarFox03

Reaction score
I adopted a "female" bunny from animal care andcontrol a little over a month ago. I just found out yesterday that Ticais a boy! :shock:So, his new name is Teek. (Tica is a girlname). He is getting neutered in about two weeks, I'm a little nervousabout it, but I know he will be ok. Also, do rabbits do better withfriends? I was thinking about adopting a new bunny, a female this time,so Teek can have a bunny buddy. I wouldnt do this until beginning ofnext year, after his surgery and I know he's all healed up, but wouldthis be a good idea? I am very new to the rabbit scene, so any infowould be great! thanks!

Melody & Teek

Worked alright for me, but I already had tworabbits. As far as healing goes, Aura was finished in a week. It's thehormones you should watch for.

about the hormones part, are you referring to theputting two buns together? both will be altered before being puttogether. my male is getting neutered in two weeks, and I wont begetting another one until after the new year. thanks for the responsethough! :D

Melody & Teek

Welcome SugarFox03,

Not all rabbits get along naturally. One of the best ideas I've learnedwas through Buck Jones who, when has visited shelters with theircurrent rabbit and be introduced to the rabbits there, one-by-one in aroom, so that they can determine which pair would work.

They don't need to have a companion. Generally speaking, if they haveyou and your attention, they'll bond with you more than they do whenthey're bonded to each other.

Do you have any idea how old your new addition is?

-Carolyn