Litter is so confusing!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ilovetoeatchocolate

Reaction score
Okay I have been doing reading on litter and I find it very confusing. Some websites recommend this, while others recommend that! There is an article from www.rabbit.org that even has a list of features for each litter. Absorbancy, safety, compostability etc. etc. I would just like a straight up answer. What litter should I use! I have never owned a bunny so I have no experience but I have tons of books that I am reading and am willing to learn. Please give me your tips and advice. I have a large high back corner litter box.

Shannon

Different things suit different people and bunnies, so perhaps it's best to try out a few and see which is your favourite. :)

Personally, I use a wood based pellet cat litter, and I have never had a problem with it at all. It's clean, absorbs the smell, easy to clean, affordable.. :) Most people use either that, or paper based cat litter, they are the two best, in my opinion.

Although, I do think mid-sized cat litter trays are better than the corner litter trays, they are a bit small, and bunnies may kick litter out of the front. But they work ok for smaller buns I think. :)

Hi Shannon,

Information overload has set in! I have used almost every type of litter, so I can give you a rundown on the ones that I prefer. It is a personal choice, and I am sure people will disagree with some of my choices, but here are my favorites. The most important things for me in a litter are odor control, must be safe for bunnies to nibble on, and must be compostable.

Aspen Supreme by Green Pet - this is a pelleted litter made from aspen saw dust. Safe for bunnies, and has a wonderful woody smell to it. This is the best litter that I have used in cutting down ammonia smell.