Litter box problems

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johnna

Reaction score
Hi-Im new to this awesome forum! Im having a little bit of a problem though. I've had my for 7 years and shes been great until now. She is scooping out her litter, moving the box and peeing in the corner (where her box usually is sitting). She never used to do this until recently. I've tried practically everything, but its getting to be really hard work cleaning her condo every day to get the odor out. Does anyone have any advice? I know she is a very lazy bunny, doesnt like to play or run around, just sits in a spot and sleeps. Everyone talks about how and what their bunnies do, like running around, socializing etc, but Mel has never done that. I keep working with her though. Help!

Not sure why she started doing this all of a sudden but when one of my buns gets bored she will do the same thing.

You could try to attach the litterbox to the side of the cage somehow. Tie wrap, cable tie, large metal binder clips work well.

Has anything changed in her world recently? Any new additions to the household?

Has anything else about her changed? Sometimes a change in litter habits can indicate a potential medical problems, such as a gut problem, or feeling rough in some way, cystitis, etc.

Is your bun a healthy weight? Is she spayed?

Unfortunately, she is obese, I take her to the Vet frequently, not that she gets sick but just to get a check up. We are trying to lose weight though its been a problem since shes never been an active bunny. :nerves1

She uses timothy hay, purina rabbit food (very little), a banana chip, carrots (1/2 twice daily) and parsley. :cry2

It might be worth cutting out the treats (such as carrots and bananc hips) and just having her on unlimited hay and a small pinch of a complete pellet. Is that what Purina is? Or is it a mix of different things?