Is this bunny cheap?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Perez28

Reaction score
Okay so I found myself at agway feed store the other day and they have live animals there they had lionhead rabbits for 25 dollars they said that they are from home breeders there was 3 from the same litter is this a good reasonable price for a pet rabbit or could these rabbits have health issues again I have zero experience with rabbits so have no clue just wondering thanx

Price is not an indicator of health or quality.

Look to make sure that the rabbit has bright, shiny eyes. They should have clean, dry noses (no discharge), and soft healthy looking fur. Check inside the ears to make sure they are clean, and flip the bunny over to check that the teeth are straight. Also, check the inside of the front legs for matting- if they are sick, they will often have matted fur on their front legs from cleaning a watery eye or nose.

If all of that checks out well, they are good to go. :)

Price really does not indicate quality or health. You can get a good show rabbit for free or pay $100 for a rabbit that ends up with lots of issues.
If you are just looking for a pet and these rabbits are healthy, then it is good. You should check them over before you pick one. Depending on the age, it can be hard to sex them, so you might want to get help if you know someone who can sex them for you.