I still haven't clipped my bunnies nails

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ntloser

Reaction score
I am really ashamed. I haven't clipped either of my bunnies nails in 6 months. I have never done it before and I just can't seem to do it. I am afraid I will hurt them. I am going to bring them to the vet but I just hope not trimming for that long hasn't caused a problem.

Do your bunnies have multiple surfaces to be on? That helps some but I'm sure they'll appreciate having them clipped. Maybe your vet can give you some pointers on how to do it at home. Good luck!

Besides making a vet visit to learn nail-clipping techniques, you might consider asking agood-hearted rabbit rescuer to help you. (That's assuming that you have a rabbit rescue nearby.) An even nicer gesture, IMO, would be to offer a donation to the rescue organization (at least worth the amount thatlocal vetscharge for nail-clipping services) for the volunteer's time and assistance. It's a win-win for humans:highfive: and bunnies :bunnyhug:.

Jenk

I had one of my shelter buns come in with horribly overgrown nails. They were all twisted around, which I'm sure had to be twisting her toes uncomfortably. I clipped her nails (she was such a good girl!) and I could tell the she liked her pedicure. She started running around more and just looked happier.

Nail clipping is something that strikes fear into many a bunny slave's heart. My girls hate it with a passion, and I have the scars to prove it. On the other hand, most of my shelter buns just lay there and don't even quiver when I clip. They need to teach Sparky and Scooter a lesson!

Anyway, try and find someone experienced in nail clipping to give you a lesson. It's really pretty easy, especially if you can round up an assistant. Good luck!!