hunger strike

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BethM

Reaction score
I opened a new box of hay the week before last, and none of my bunnies are eating it. They're eating some hay, but they're not scarfing it down like they used to.

It's the same brand of hay I've been using for three years, and no one in my rescue group (where I purchase the hay from) has had any problems. The only thing different is that this box rode around in the back of Jason's car for about a week, as he kept forgetting to bring it in.

I'm a little concerned, as they've always eaten HUGE amounts of hay, and now they're not eating much at all. So far, no problems, but I'm worried. They still run to get their salads and pellets (though Amelia wasn't all that interested in pellets tonight).

I think I'll be opening a can of pumpkin tonight, maybe they'll eat some of that.

Should I continue trying to feed this hay? It looks and smells fine to me, and there's more than half a box left. Expensive to throw away, but I don't want them to have problems because they don't like the hay.

BethM wrote:
The only thing different is that this box rode around in the back of Jason's car for about a week, as he kept forgetting to bring it in.
Maybe the hay has some exhaust or gas smells from the car and that is throwing the bunnies off the hay. Try leaving the hay outto air out and see if that makes a difference.

Pet_Bunny wrote:
BethM wrote:
The only thing different is that this box rode around in the back of Jason's car for about a week, as he kept forgetting to bring it in.
Maybe the hay has some exhaust or gas smells from the car and that is throwing the bunnies off the hay. Try leaving the hay outto air out and see if that makes a difference.
Thanks, I will leave the bin open tonight.