Herb Garden

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lyndym

Reaction score
I've been contemplating getting a little herb garden going for my buns! I have no previous gardening experience whatsoever, save for the Chia pet I just grew. I live in an apartment, so I'd be planting in little pots on the patio. Who has gotten some herbs going before and could tell me which are the easiest to maintain? Any and all tips welcome!

In a climate like ours in Southern California, it's pretty easy to get things growing as long as you can water them regularly over the summer. I have some parsley in a pot in my yard that I planted at the end of last summer and it's still growing nicely. I also had good luck with basil, but it's an annual so it died over the winter. With the basil you'll want to pinch the flowers off to encourage it to keep growing (the bunnies can eat the flowers too). I also have some oregano growing, but the snails keep eating it.

Herbs are pretty straightforward, in my experience the easiest to grow is parsley, which bunns love. I grow a few herbs, but only really the basil and parsley are for Bandit. Again with parsley as with basil you'll want to pinch the flowers off to encourage more growth. Basil grows well and easily too, though I've found it to be rather susceptible to the cold. Have been meaning to try growing some cilantro as apparently bunns like that too, and depending on where you're from, cilantro can also be known as coriander. I should think it's easy to grow though as it seems a lot like parsley.