Help! Bonding troubles !

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kijotenshi

Reaction score
Hi
I am new to owning bunnies and am a little scared of what's happening. Want to know if this is normal or some major warning signs.

We adopted a bunny about two months ago. He's a happy male that is neutered. We begin reading that a companion can make him live longer and happier so we went to find him a friend. We find a spayed female and introduced them. At first he was scared but they were curious about each other. After a little scruffle, he pinned her head to the ground. Since then, she always lowers her head around him. She will freeze for minutes at a time, her head pressed lowly to the ground in his presences. Usually he just leaves and she resumes what she was doing. When we supervise things are great. They graze together, lay down in close proximity to each other etc. They are a tad jumpy and cautious but no fights happen when we are in the room. However, when it comes to night we lock them up in different sides of the room using a playpen. Every morning (3 mornings now) either she jumps the playpen( we think that's how she gets over to his side ) to him or if we release them, they fight. Handfuls of fur go flying, mostly his. We are confused if this means they don't like each other considering normally they are okay with each other. should we give up on the female ? We don't want either to get hurt. Should we be patient ? Any advice would be wonderful !
thanks in advanced