"Grand Champion" Question

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sweetrose

Reaction score
Libby The true north west Montana, Montana, USA
OK so I am new to showing and I am purchasing a english lops buck (so excited!!!!) He has 3 grand champion legs, and she said when he gets registered he'll become a grand champion, Ok so here is the question how does the whole grand champion thing work and how do buns become grand champions?

When a rabbit wins BOB, BOV, and I think BOSB, BOSV...? in shows then they get a leg towards their grand championship. You have to have three legs to get them granded. From what you said she told you, it sounds as though she did explain it to you. ;)

You can have them registered by registrars at shows. ;) It costs to have them registered....not to sure on the price...I think $1-$3? But I could be wrong so don't trust my word, lol.

Emily

A rabbit earns a leg when one of the following conditions are met:

1. Wins first in class with 5 animals shown in the classby 3 exhibitors.

2. Wins Best of Variety or Group with 5 animals shown in the varietyby 3 exhibitors.

3. WinsBest Opposite Variety or Groupwith 5 animals shown (of the same sex and variety) by 3 exhibitors.

4. Wins Best in Show provided there are 5 rabbits by 3 exhibitors.

5. WinsBestof Breedwith 5 animals shown by 3 exhibitors.

Basically everything if with 5 rabbits shown by 3 exhibitors :)

As far as registering a rabbit, it is $6 and you must be an ARBA member, the rabbit must be free of any DQs and must have a full 3 generation pedigree. The rabbit also must be tattooed.

Sharon