General Bismark I

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kuniklos

Reaction score
This weekend at the PA state ARBA convention in Lebanon my fiance (Joe) and I became rabbit parents. The labor was hard and painful, but we finally found our bunny!

I grew up with dogs, birds and goats, and had a rabbit when I was a very small girl. Rabbits have always been my favorite animals, but I was not in the best position to bring a rabbit into my home until recently.

I just graduated with a degree in Anthropology (archaeology) and Art History. Out of school and with a disposable income (as well as all my previous pets passing from old age over my college years) I found myself with a furry friend to smother with spoils.

My fiance and I had been attending rabbit conventions for a few years, and had spoken many time of getting a rabbit. He wanted a dwarf breed, and I wanted and English Lop with the biggest ears I could find. We had not really intended on picking out a rabbit this weekend, but if it happened, it was meant to happen!

Due to various reasons, we only made the last day of convention and only found two English Lops for sale. I had my heart on a male, and both were male! Sadly, upon further inspecting one was in poor health. The other has spots and my fiance was being a premadonna over desiring a solid colored rabbit.

There were two breeds we always considered our compromise breed. The Tan and Thrianta! We found a Thrianta breeder whom we really liked, but they weren't kindling again until the Spring. Then we found a small breeder with just four Tans for sale. Three were male, and one was female. One chocolate, one blue, and two blacks. One little boy, 8 months old, was very calm when it came to being handled. He was originally named Sommer.