Flemish Giant Spay

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Krissa

Reaction score
Hi all, I don't post much but I do read the forum often.

Anyway, I finally convinced my hubby to let me get a friend for my Californian, Zander. We are picking up a female Flemish on Saturday. She is 11w old. Zander is neutered, around 2years old, and has a 12X8foot x-pen type cage. Right now he is stuck playing with cats for friends.

I wasn't going to try to bond them until I get my new girl fixed. I am new to giant rabbit breeds - would I have to wait longer than 4 months old to spay her? All of my other past rabbits have been dwarf breeds (dutch and mini lop). I know Flemish get big fast so I don't want to keep her in a small temporary cage any longer than I have to when she has a huge x-pen waiting for her.

I know that everyone says to wait until both rabbits are fixed before you bond them. I will tell you what I did and you can do with it what you like :)

Becky is 4 and spayed, a widdow. She was sad so I got her a new husbunny. Gary is 6 months now and currently neutered, but he was not at first. I felt too bad for my sad little girl so I introduced them. They were licking eachother and sleeping in her territory by that evening (it happens to be my bedroom so I would have heard any fights in the night). She went with him a week later to get his snip as moral support. They are totally inseperable and too cute when they take turns grooming.

This is just my experience. Every bun is different.