Controlled Socialization/Bonding

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GardenSpots

Reaction score
I just saw the term "controlled socialization" used in someone's post and I guess that is what I am asking about rather than bonding.

I am new to bunnies. I have a neutered male I adopted at the end of March. I am contemplating getting a buddy for him and so I have been reading about bonding and such. As sort of a transition in my rabbit ownership I have agreed to foster a neutered male for the rescue where I adopted my boy. Because of the age difference (mine is 1yo and the foster is about 5 yo) I do not think I will decide to keep this boy, but you never know. Ideally, I think I want a female up to 2yo. I am not sure male/female matters as much as personalities that do not clash, but I am going by what I am reading. The age limitation is due to hoping they would have a long life together. Then again, it might be easier on *me* if they weren't so close together in age. I am pretty active in dogs (rescue and training), and they say male/female matters there too, but in my experience it does not, but personalities sure make a difference between dogs that fight and dogs that don't. It has a lot less to do with male/female.